Scripture for Today – May 1, 2007 – The Word of Our God

Dear Friend,

Along with 4.3 million other Americans I will turn fifty this year. I don’t particularly mind being fifty. I feel pretty much like I did when I was twenty five. But what does blow me away is how fast the last twenty five years have flown by! Observant people from all cultures throughout history have struggled with the fact of our relatively short tenure on the earth. Keen awareness of mortality has brought much of our great literature and poetry! Ever since I was a young person I was sensitive to the passing of things – flowers bloomed and faded, leaves flamed forth and withered, pets bounded around and died, moments that I wished to preserve forever passed quickly. I struggled with the meaning of life and the meaning of my life.

Shortly after I became a Christian I came upon Isaiah 40. It’s quoted at the beginning of three of the gospels. It contains a prophecy about the coming of the Lord to make things right. It speaks of John the Baptist who would came to prepare the way for the Lord.

It also speaks about the eternal stability and truthfulness of the word of God, as contrasted to the fleeting beauties and pleasures and glories of life, and the fleeting nature of life itself. God’s word brought the universe into being. God’s word upholds all things by its power. God’s word provides us with wisdom as to who He is and who we are. God’s word promises many and great things, and we can depend on His word, because He who has spoken cannot lie.

You may be struck by the beauty of the following verses. You may mumble to yourself, “Amen,” or even have a nice warm feeling of security. That is fine and good. But remember, the word of God is meant to be taken in, learned, and lived out. Please don’t forget that part. The next week’s worth of readings will have to do with God’s word. I open they encourage you to seek and build your life upon that word which stands forever. Isaiah 40:6-8:

6 A voice says, “Cry!”
And I said, “What shall I cry?”
All flesh is grass,
and all its beauty is like the flower of the field.
7 The grass withers, the flower fades
when the breath of the Lord blows on it;
surely the people are grass.
8 The grass withers, the flower fades,
but the word of our God will stand forever.

In Christ,

Joel

 

Leave a Reply

